Kolkata Knight Riders Crush Royal Challengers Bangalore by 7 Wickets

10th Match (N), Bengaluru, March 29, 2024, Indian Premier League
ScoreResultPlayer of the match
Royal Challengers Bengaluru182/6KKR won by 7 wickets (with 19 balls remaining)Sunil Narine, KKR 47 (22) & 1/40
Kolkata Knight Riders186/3

In a lopsided encounter at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on March 29th, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) thumped the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by a comfortable 7 wickets margin.

RCB falters despite Kohli’s knock

Royal Challengers Bengaluru vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Sent in to bat first, RCB could only muster 182/6 on the board. Virat Kohli, in a lone warrior effort, anchored the innings with an unbeaten 83 off 59 balls. However, the rest of the batting lineup failed to capitalize, with none managing a significant score. Mohammed Siraj and Yash Dayal’s expensive spells (0-46 and 1-46 respectively) further dented RCB’s hopes.

KKR openers run riot

KKR’s chase got off to a flying start thanks to a blistering opening partnership between Philip Salt (30 off 20 balls) and Sunil Narine (47 off 22 balls). The duo plundered 86 runs in just 6.3 overs, taking the RCB attack to the cleaners. While Narine fell to Mayank Dagar’s yorker and Salt followed soon after, the damage was already done.

Venkatesh Iyer guides KKR home

With a solid foundation laid by the openers, Venkatesh Iyer (50* off 41 balls) took over the mantle, guiding KKR home with an unbeaten fifty. Shreyas Iyer (38* off 32 balls) provided good support as KKR chased down the target with 8 overs to spare, handing RCB a crushing defeat.

Key performers:

  • KKR: Sunil Narine (47 off 22 balls), Venkatesh Iyer (50* off 41 balls)
  • RCB: Virat Kohli (83* off 59 balls)