Gujarat Titans Tame Sunrisers Hyderabad by 7 Wickets

12th Match (D/N), Ahmedabad, March 31, 2024, Indian Premier League
ScoreResultPlayer of the match
Sunrisers Hyderabad162/8GT won by 7 wickets (with 5 balls remaining)Mohit Sharma, GT 3/25
Gujarat Titans168/3

The Gujarat Titans (GT) continued their winning run in the IPL 2024 season, outclassing the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by a comfortable 7-wicket margin at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on March 31th.

SRH falters despite decent start

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Gujarat Titans

Opting to bat first, SRH got off to a decent start with openers Mayank Agarwal (16) and Travis Head (19) putting on a 34-run partnership. However, Gujarat’s pacers, Lockie Ferguson (2-28) and Mohammed Shami (1-24), applied the brakes on the scoring rate. wickets fell at regular intervals, restricting SRH to a below-par total of 162/8 in their 20 overs. Abhishek Sharma (38 off 27 balls) was the lone bright spark for the Hyderabad team.

Gujarat Titans chase with ease

In reply, GT openers Wriddhiman Saha (25 off 13 balls) and Shubman Gill (36 off 28 balls) provided a solid foundation with a 36-run stand. While Saha fell after a quickfire cameo, Gill continued his good touch before being dismissed. The experienced campaigner David Miller (45* off 32 balls) along with the young Sai Sudharsan (45* off 36 balls) ensured a smooth chase for GT. The duo stitched together an unbeaten 77-run partnership to seal the victory for Gujarat with five balls to spare.

Key performers:

  • GT: David Miller (45* off 32 balls), Sai Sudharsan (45* off 36 balls)
  • SRH: Abhishek Sharma (38 off 27 balls)